Food Art. 

This is my very first crafty blog post with one of my littles! I am so excited to share the fun with you that we have played with over on Instagram here in more detail. 

(If you want to find me on IG I’m @lightgreenmothering

  Today we are playing with kitchen scraps! 

What you need:

  • Food scraps (we used celery and potatoes)
  • Paint
  • Paint brush or roller
  • Paper 
  • Knife or cookie cutters
  • Painters Tape (optional)

   I chose to tape the paper (painters tape) to my table to secure it. 

Next, I pre-made some designs in halved potatoes with cookie cutters and then trimmed the edges with a knife. My celery was literally just the cutting from the bottom of my stalk. You could use broccoli, carrots, apples..you get the picture. 

Next, I set out paint, water, brushes and a towel for brush clean up. 

Time for fun!


The celery makes lovely flowers!


We also were practicing our peace sign and heart making skills while doing this “mural”.  Because mamas, this kid loves it when I join in. Mom bonus, she thinks I’m awesome when I do. 

Now, considering  my daughter tags EVERYTHING with an H. I would say this is her signature now.


So easy peasy right?

 Now go have some fun! 

~Lightgreenmom

Leave a comment