An Open Letter To My 9 Month Old.

I was inspired to write this letter after reading Suprise Mama’s post to her child. What a great idea and thank you for the inspiration mama! So now I would like to share with you the letter I wrote to my 9 month old daughter. Enjoy!

An open letter to my 9 month old  ~ lightgreenmothering.com

Dearest Harlow,
Time has moved so quickly. It seems as though just yesterday you were this tiny little dancing bean inside my belly. Now you are 9 months old and have become this beautiful little person.
I’m realizing very quickly now that you are crawling and climbing about to take in every moment. Especially the peaceful, quiet moments like this one as I watch you napping with your tiny lips quivering about as if your still nursing.
Life is filled with distractions and now with you I have a clear direction and purpose, when life started making me question my place.
When I look at you I am filled with a love I have never felt before. Don’t get me wrong bug, I love your daddy so much, but a mothers love for her baby girl is indescribable and magical. You are teaching me every day to be more patient, live in the moment and embrace the time we have been given to share together before you are all grown up and ready to discover the world on your own. Because as much as I don’t want to think about it now, there will be a time when I won’t see you every day.

I know you are going to do great things in life. You are already such and incredible little lady and I will support you and help you to grow to be everything you want to become.

I will cherish all the moments I get to enjoy with you. I love you beyond measure, and I am honored that I was chosen to be your mother.

With lots of love,

Your mom

~lightgreen

7 thoughts on “An Open Letter To My 9 Month Old.

  1. aww… so sweet & true. i was wandering aimlessly till lil b came along. now all of a sudden i feel a purpose & a mission i’ve never known before. enjoy your baby time. we are entering the land of the 3 yr old. every day i never know whats gonna happen – but that’s ok. i am definitely not bored or wanting for anything

    • Kids sure are amazing. It’s great that everything is a brand new and exciting to them. Lately I have been around alot of toddler and they are certainly full of some rather funny suprises sometimes.

  2. I absolutely love this. I hope to be able to do this at least every few months throughout my daughters life – I think that it is so important and something that I would love to read now from my own mother. Thank you so much for sharing!!

    • Thank you for the inspiration! I think it will certainly be something I add to her book of memories and continue to grow as she gets older. How lovely would it be to have a little box of handwritten letters for your loved one someday?

      • I know, I think about that often, and I hope that she will have something like that to look at, especially when things are hard. Having something for her to look at and enjoy when she is older is also one of the reasons I started blogging. I certainly did it for myself, but I also did it for her and I hope that she enjoys reading this stuff as much as I enjoy writing it. Have a great weekend!!

  3. Heather, Harlow is sure to treasure this one day when she is older. I am so glad you have chosen to be a mommy. There is no better feeling in the world. Yes, it is hard to let your children go when they come of age, but it is easiest when you know your child/children are happy.
    Love,
    Mom

  4. Pingback: An Open Letter To My One Year Old Daughter | lightgreenmothering

Leave a Reply

