Healthy Vegan Lactation Bars

Lightgreen Healthy Vegan Lactation Bars ~lightgreenmothering.com

As a exclusively breastfeeding mama (yes, we are still EBF at almost 9 months) I have ran into a few days of less than full feeling breasts to feed my growing little girl. Especially when the dreaded time of the month comes around. So, to keep my supply up I started drinking Fenugreek Tea, otherwise known as mothers milk tea. But it had adverse effects on my stomach and in all honesty made me clear the room I was in after drinking it. So, a few of my mama friends mentioned lactation cookies.

They had me at cookie.

So, after numerous batches of lactation cookies from recipes I have found from other mamas and online, I realized they have all had ingredients in them that have been either quite unhealthy, or non vegan and also VERY sticky (and needless to say I LOVE cookies and can’t have just one). So, I decided to experiment and create my own recipe filled with all the things I have loved about the 20+recipes I have researched. I also decided to go with a  bar instead of a cookie so I don’t have to mess so much with the sticky dough. You can choose to make cookies if you want.

Now I would love to share it with all of you!

Lightgreenmom Healthy Vegan Lactation Bars

Preheat oven to 350 degrees .

Healthy Vegan Lactation Bars ~lightgreenmothering.com

Ingredients:

1 1/2 Cup Whole Wheat Flour

3 Cups Oatmeal

6 1/2 Tablespoons Brewers Yeast

1 Cup Ground Flaxseed

1 teaspoon Baking Soda

1 teaspoon Salt

1 1/2 teaspoons Cinnamon

1 Vegan Dark Chocolate bar or 1/2 -2/3 cup Vegan Dark Chocolate Chips

1/2 Cup Almonds (or your choice of nut)

1/2 Cup Dried Cranberries (or your choice of dried fruit)

3/4 Cup Real Pumpkin

1/2 Cup All Natural Applesauce

2 teaspoons Pure Vanilla Extract

3/4 -1 Cup Light Agave (I use 3/4 C, but if you like it sweeter, you can use a full cup)

1/2 Cup Coconut Oil

1/4 Cup Water

Directions:

You will need three bowls. 2 Small/Med and one large.

  • In the large bowl mix all of your dry ingredients. (Minus Flax, you will use it in the next step) 
  • In one of the small bowls put water and flax in and mix until the flax absorbs water.
  • In your third bowl, mix all of your wet ingredients.

Healthy Vegan Lactation Bars ~lightgreenmothering.com

  • Add the flax mixture to your wet ingredients and mix.
  • Now add your wet to your dry mix bowl and mix it all thoroughly. (I usually give in and use my hands at this point, because it is very sticky.
  • Mix in Almonds, Cranberries, and Chocolate.

Healthy Vegan Lactation Bars ~lightgreenmothering.com

  • Spread into greased pan. (I used a 9×12 and also had enough for another bread pan size. If you spread it thin you can make 2, just adjust baking times accordingly).

Healthy Vegan Lactation Bars ~lightgreenmothering.com

  • Set timer and bake 20-25 minutes for thicker bars. 18-20 minutes for thinner bars, or 12-14 minutes for cookies.
  • Take out of the oven and cool.

Healthy Vegan Lactation Bars ~lightgreenmothering.comNow all you have to do is cut and enjoy!

~lightgreenmom

2 thoughts on “Healthy Vegan Lactation Bars

  1. sounds yummy! only thing i might change is the applesauce but i’m not sure which kind of apples Motts uses since companies don’t have to label GMOs. Don’t want to be eating the dreaded Frankenapple :-). we just switched to santa cruz organic applesauce

    • That brings up a great point. The great news is in natural, there is no High fructose corn syrup. Only apples, Vitamin C (to prevent browning) and water. So many applesauces on the market have it. I will be calling the company tomorrow and asking about GMO’s:)

Leave a Reply

