Birth Story Movie

Touch.

Birth Story Screening. St. Petersburg FL

I have grown a very soft spot in my heart for the Ina May Gaskin thru my pregnancy and my short time as a mother thus far. She is nothing less than remarkable. Her work as well as the rest of the farm midwives for over 40 years now has empowered me to know that our bodies as women are very powerful and somewhat magical in a way.

I have learned in my own birth that I wish more of Americas medical professionals would believe in the womans body and ability to birth more. Did you know that America’s natural birth rate is below 2%? Ina May and her Farm Midwives are at 95%! What have we become? A society of people who don’t believe in our own bodies and their innate abilitly to birth?

And so with that, I want to tell you that this movie was beyond my expectations. It is full of videos from the farm midwives archives from the 1970’s to present day. It is a great story of the self taught discoveries of the midwives and their life on the farm.  With footage of a few natural versions of some of the most questioned challenging birth situations that often lead to cesareans. I would highly reccommend this to any mother or father to be, or anyone in love with the natural process of birth. You can purchase a copy of the birth story on April 30th thru the birth story website, however, if you want to catch a pre-screening like I did, be sure to check out this link for showings in your area: http://birthstorymovie.com/screenings/

Future Natural Birth Advocates

Future Natural Birth Advocates

I can tell you this mom loves a family friendly event. A few lovely women I know also came and, as you can see, our babies enjoyed the show as well.

Here is a trailer for the movie itself:

“Birth Story: Ina May Gaskin & the Farm Midwives” Official Trailer from Birth Story on Vimeo.

I don’t know about you personally, but every single time I see a birth, I cry tears of joy, so be prepared if you are in a public screening that you just very well may cry. (yes this girl certainly did) It is just such an empowering thing birth. To see the expressions of utter strength in a mothers eyes and the glowing support of everyone around her. Possibly best of all is that first glimpse of the baby itself.

First Glimpse

First Glimpse

The first glimpse I had of my daughter didn’t quite go as I had imagined, and many of my own desires of her birth were changed due to our transfer. However I do believe you are given the birth you are intended to have no matter the outcome. (I’m sure you will hear more about that  as this blog evolves) but for now I just want to share that first face to face moment I had with my baby. She was so unbelieveably beautiful. Her eyes, I mean her eyes were the most beautiful thing I had ever seen!! Her little tiny fingers I could have held onto for days. And skin to skin and that first latch changed my connection with human life as I knew it. I was so insanely in love with this tiny being I had just met.

~lightgreenmom

How was your first meeting with your baby? Or what do you envision that first moment to be like? What do you remember about that moment?

5 thoughts on “Birth Story Movie

  1. Ooh, I think I’d like to see that movie! I had my first natural childbirth with our 3rd child in Sept ’11 and it was incredible. I have since become very interested in childbirth. 🙂 I am writing an article, in fact, about the pains and sensations of natural birth, and I am asking women to share their experiences. If you would like to share yours, you can find how here: http://atlantamomofthree.wordpress.com/2013/04/04/your-childbirth-experience/ Have a great night!

  2. Oh, and to answer your question, my first meeting was amazing. I was still quite stunned from the intense experience (I had only arrived at the hospital for 59 min before he was born) so I held him while trying to come to grips with what had all happened! lol But then I recovered and I got to really look at him…so beautiful. ❤

  3. I will definitely have to check out this movie as I am a HUGE fan of natural childbirth and did it with both of my boys. (did not have a choice with my first even if I had wanted to do it differently because he was preemie and came to fast to do anything but push). I am terrified to have doctors even suggest a C-section and love the idea of no pain meds. Woman think they “need” them but with both a 2lb 9oz baby AND a 7lb 9oz baby I did fine and just kept focused on bringing my bundle safely into this world 🙂

Leave a Reply

